Sunday, March 4, 2018

Have you ever wondered what was going through an author's mind?  What all they faced?  How they did things?

Well author Chris Cannon wrote a blog post to let us know.  You can read her post here:  Inside an Author's Brain

Chris is a great person and a great author.  I've known her for over a year and met her at Penned Con  in 2016.  Check out her books on Amazon

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Anika Burgess who does articles for Atlas Obscura did one on maps of the fictional world and it is kind of interesting.  I thought I would share it with you.  Just follow this link:  Charting the Geography of Classic Literature

Saturday, January 20, 2018

We are having a very cold winter till yesterday and today when it has been a real heat wave in the 50's.  I love it.  If you see a lot of reviews being posted by me it is because I'm playing catch up.

Growing my craft business has been keeping me very busy so I'm not really reviewing any more other than books I get from the library.  I really appreciated my time meeting new authors and reviewing their books but I love doing crafts and have found an outlet for them so that keeps me busy these days. 

I'm not going to quit blogging about books and such but maybe not so frequently as before. 

Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Did you vote in the 2017 Goodreads Choice Awards.  I did.  In case you have been wondering who and what won, click Goodreads Choice Awards 2017.  Have to say I haven't read any of them but I may have to check some out. 

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

I have 2 reviews to write and 2 books to read for review but I wanted to stop by and tell everyone: 

Tuesday, October 31, 2017

I have been so busy getting my craft business at an antique/craft mall going that I have only read two books this month.  I know it is shameful but crafts=money so what can I say?  Anyway I wanted to stop in and say:

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

This is an older interview with Lincoln Child and Douglas Preston, 2 of my absolute favorite authors.  I found it on their website.  Check it out if you are a fan or if you are interested in new authors to read.  Even though the interview is a few years old they answer a lot of interesting questions.

Friday, September 8, 2017

AAAACCCCKKKKK!  Life is very busy around here right now.  I am watching my 3 year old great-nephew, making craft items for my store, Fun Funky n Cool Creations, and making swag for my sister because she will be publishing her first book soon.  She will have a table at Penned Con 2017.  Her name is Debbie Browdy and I am so proud of her.

The 3 year old is her grandson and he was my assistant today working on her swag.

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Bumps In the Road
by author Lois D. Brown

Bumps in the road. Everyone has them. One of my “bumps” turned into my first novel ever— The Saros Curse
In 2009-ish I was diagnosed with having Simple Partial Seizures. These kinds of seizures don’t affect motor skills, but they can affect all five of your senses. In addition they caused me to have MASSIVE déjà vu where time slowed to a crawl and everything around me faded in and out (not to mention my muffled hearing, a metallic taste, and the bright lights). Yeah . . . it was weird.
The diagnosis left me feeling low. It meant medication (probably for life) and the memory loss I’d experienced was permanent. After getting a bunch of tests at the hospital, I went to bed thinking about my situation. That night I had the most vivid dream. It was about a teenage girl who had these frightening feelings of having already experienced things before . . . but in another lifetime.
I woke up and knew I was going to write a book. A novel. For me, that was something new. I had been a journalist and non-fiction ghost author for twenty years. I had always told myself that fiction was out of my league.
Writing the book The Saros Curse  was therapy for me. Sure, the story is fake. Sure, things that happen in the book aren’t real, but in a weird way it helped me come to terms with my own “bump” in the road and move on. Better yet, I learned I LOVED writing fiction. Twenty years of being afraid of writing a novel were gone.
I don’t mean to turn this into a sermon, but if you’re going through a hard time, do what you can to embrace the challenge. For everyone that is something different. For me, it was writing a book.

Lois has kindly offered my readers a free short story:   Death in the Air.  Just click the link.

Where you can follow Lois:

Where you can find her books:
Lois D. Brown

Saturday, July 22, 2017

Did you know the Japanese word tsundoku means:

ie:  Mount TBR

I found this out from J.A. Andrews newsletter.